Lunch Session LS9  4 April 2018

The James Webb Space Telescope Users Committee Townhall

Aims and scope

With an aperture of 6.5 m, and a powerful combination of astronomical instruments, the James Webb Space Telescope  (Webb) will be the premier observatory of the next decade, serving thousands of astronomers worldwide. Webb will study every phase in the history of our Universe, ranging from the first luminous glows after the Big Bang, to the formation of solar systems capable of supporting life on planets like Earth, to the evolution of our own Solar System. Webb is an international collaboration between NASA, the European Space Agency (ESA), and the Canadian Space Agency (CSA).

The James Webb Space Telescope Users Committee (JSTUC) has been created to provide user advice to the STScI Director and the JWST Senior Project Scientist, with the goal to maximize the observatory?s scientific performance. The JSTUC includes approximately fifteen astronomers from the US, Europe, and Canada and currently has representation both from the General Observer (GO) community and the Webb Instrument Definition Teams (GTOs).

This townhall will give a first opportunity to the astronomical community to meet and interact with the European representatives on the JSTUC. Brief presentations will be given on the status of the mission, timeline of events of interest to the community, and the JSTUC charter and membership. They will be followed by a moderated Q/A session, where attendees will have the opportunity to gain insight on Webb scientific operations as well as provide feedback and suggestions to the JSTUC representatives present at the meeting.


  • Welcome & Introduction - A. Nota (ESA)
  •  Status of the James Webb Space Telescope Mission - P. Ferruit (ESA)
  • Scientific observations timeline - N. Reid (STScI)
  • What is the JSTUC - S. Charlot  (IAP)

  • Panel:  "What can the JSTUC do for you?" moderated by Bonnie Meinke (STScI)

Invited speakers

  • Stephane Charlot(IAP)
  • Pierre Ferruit(ESA)
  • Johan Richard(Obs. Lyon)
  • I. Neill Reid(STScI)
  • Gillian Wright(UKATC)

Scientific organisers
Antonella Nota (ESA/STScI), Pierre Ferruit (ESA), Bonnie Meinke (STScI),  I. Neill Reid (STScI), Gillian Wright (UKATC)

Antonella Nota nota @

Updated on Wed Feb 21 02:14:15 CET 2018