Symposium S13  30 June - 1 July 2021

The Transient Universe

Aims and scope

Time-domain astronomy is a very active sub-field of astrophysics. Over the last decade, many events such as novae, supernovae (SNe), gamma ray bursts (GRBs), fast radio bursts and blazars provide a unique window to study extreme scenarios especially at radio wavelengths. A variety of groundbreaking scientific results and new discoveries have already emerged, sometimes challenging our understanding of transient phenomena.The recent detections of gravitational wave event GW170817 and its electromagnetic counterpart have begun a new era of multi-messenger astrophysics. Different survey telescopes have been able to detect transients in extreme regimes of astrophysics. The new decade promises even more exciting discoveries, with new facilities such as GOTO, BlackGEM, the Vera Rubin Observatory and the Square Kilometre Array (SKA) beginning operations in the new decade alongside highly-successful existing facilities such as Swift, Gaia, OGLE, ASAS-SN, ASKAP, MeerKAT and ZTF. A key goal for these new facilities is conducting cutting-edge time-domain surveys. European facilities and European researchers are playing a significant role in these surveys and are providing valuable inputs for future time domain science that will be conducted with these upcoming facilities. To that end, we have organised a 2-day Symposium at the European Astronomical Society conference in 2021 to bring together an excellent group of international researchers working on various aspects of transient science and present the state of the art, the challenges and the future perspectives of time-domain astronomy.

In this 2-day symposium, we will highlight the on-going time-domain surveys from various multi-wavelength facilities with a focus on recent results from SKA-pathfinder facilities that will help define survey strategies for transients from future surveys. We plan to discuss the synergies between different multi-wavelength facilities to optimally conduct research in time-domain astronomy as well as the role of current facilities in the era of multi-messenger astrophysics as that has emerged as an important area of research in transient astronomy.


To highlight the contribution of European researchers in time-domain astronomy and current multi-wavelength surveys.

To take advantage of a virtual conference to bring together an excellent cohort of researchers from all over the world working in a broad range of topics related to time domain radio astronomy.

Present a variety of exciting high-impact discoveries that have been achieved by current facilities like Swift, ASAS-SN and ZTF and SKA-precursor facilities like MeerKAT, ASKAP, CHIME, LOFAR and EVN.

To inform the scientific community about the main results from current transient surveys in order to better plan and optimise transient surveys in the era of LSST and SKA operations.

To give an opportunity to junior researchers and students to showcase their latest findings via lightning talks about their posters.


    In this Symposium, we plan to cover the latest results from various multi-wavelength observing facilities and surveys on a variety of transients including:
  • Fast Radio Bursts
  • Neutron Stars (pulsars/magnetars/NS Low Mass X-ray Binaries)
  • Explosive Stellar Transients
  • Multi-messenger astrophysics
  • Tidal Disruption Events and Active Galactic Nuclei
  • Current/ Up-coming surveys

Invited speakers

    Confirmed Invited Speakers:
  • Shivani Bhandari (CSIRO, Australia)
  • Marta Burgay (INAF, Italy)
  • Kate Alexander (Northwestern University, USA)
  • Albino Perego (University of Trento, Italy)
  • Sjoert van Velzen (Leiden University, Netherlands)
  • Susanna Vergani (IAP, France)

Scientific organisers

Kaustubh Rajwade (Uni. of Manchester, co-chair), Manisha Shrestha (LJMU, co-chair), Anna Bartkiewicz (Nicolaus Copernicus University, Poland),Robert Braun (SKA Organisation, UK), John Conway (Chalmers, Sweden), Chris Copperwheat (LJMU), Phil Evans (Univ. of Leicester), Rob Fender (Univ. of Oxford, UK) , Chiara Ferrari (OCA, France), Andreja Gomboc (Univ. of Nova Gorica), Benjamin Gompertz (Warwick), Jason Hessels (ASTRON, Netherlands), Carole Jackson (ICRAR, Australia), Helen Jermak (LJMU), Evan Keane (SKA Organisation, UK), Jean-Paul Kneib (EPFL, Switzerland), Shiho Kobayahi (LJMU), Michael Kramer (MPIfR, Germany), Carole Mundell (Bath), Miguel Perez-Torres (IAA, Spain), Daniel Perley (LJMU), Isabella Prandoni (INAF, Italy), Steve Schulze (Weizmann), Benjamin Stappers (Univ. of Manchester, UK), Valeriu Tudose (ISS, Romania), Stefan Wagner (Univ. of Heidelberg, Germany), Patrick Woudt (Univ. of Cape Town, South Africa), Lukasz Wyrzykowski (Warsaw)


kaustubh.rajwade @

Updated on Mon Jan 18 15:07:23 CET 2021