Tycho Brahe Prize

The Tycho Brahe Prize is awarded in recognition of the development or exploitation of European instruments or major discoveries based largely on such instruments.


The 2017 Tycho Brahe Prize is awarded to

the French optical engineer

Mr Bernard Delabre

in recognition of his leading role in the optical design of astronomical telescopes, cameras and spectrographs over the past 40 years.


The 2016 Tycho Brahe Prize is awarded to

the German astrophysicist

Prof. Joachim Trümper

in recognition of his visionary development of X-ray instrumentation, from balloon experiments and the discovery of cyclotron lines probing the magnetic field of neutron stars to his leadership and strong scientific involvement in the ROSAT mission.


The 2015 Tycho Brahe Prize is awarded to

the Swiss astrophysicist

Prof. Michel Mayor

in recognition of the development of instrumentation, which led to his discovery of the first extra-solar planet orbiting a solar-type star and to his leading role in this domain during the last twenty years.


The 2014 Tycho Brahe Prize is awarded to

the French astrophysicist

Prof. Antoine Labeyrie

in recognition of his innovative concepts and inventions now widely used in modern optical imaging at high angular resolution.


The 2013 Tycho Brahe Prize is awarded to

the Italian astrophysicist

Prof. Massimo Tarenghi

in recognition of his central role in the development of the European Southern Observatory facilities that have resulted in Europe's world-leading role in ground-based astronomy.


The 2012 Tycho Brahe Prize is awarded to

the German astrophysicist

Prof. Reinhard Genzel

in recognition of his outstanding contributions to European near-infrared astronomy, through the development of sophisticated instrumentation, and for ground-breaking work in galactic and extra-galactic astronomy leading to the best evidence to date for the existence of black holes.


The 2011 Tycho Brahe Prize is awarded to

the British astrophysicist

Prof. Michael Perryman

for his crucial role in the fostering of high precision, global stellar astrometry from space, in particular the development of the Hipparcos mission.


The winner of the 2010 Tycho Brahe Prize is

the British optical engineer

Dr. Raymond Wilson


The winner of the 2009 Tycho Brahe Prize is

the French astrophysicist

Prof. Françoise Combes


The first winner of the 2008 Tycho Brahe Prize is

the Swedish astrophysicist

Prof. Dr. Göran Scharmer


In 2007, the EAS has created the Tycho Brahe Prize — to be awarded annually — in recognition of the development or exploitation of European instruments, or major discoveries based largely on such instruments.
The prize carries a monetary reward of € 6000.–. The award ceremony takes place during the annual EAS meeting. The winner of the prize is invited to present a talk at one of the plenary sessions. The prize lecture may be published in The Astronomy and Astrophysics Review.
There are no restrictions to nationality of the candidates nor to the country of origin or residence. Nominations should arrive at the EAS Office by 31st October of the year preceding the award. Nominations can be made by EAS members.
Selection procedure
EAS Council appoints a Prize Award Committee. This committee consists of a Chair and about 5–7 members. The Chair has qualifying vote. The Award Committee forwards its selection to EAS Council for ratification.
Until 2016, The Tycho Brahe Prize was funded by the Klaus Tschira Stiftung, a German foundation, which was established by the physicist Klaus Tschira in 1995 as a non-profit organisation. The Klaus Tschira Stiftung promotes the advancement of the natural sciences, mathematics, and computer science, and wants to raise appreciation for these fields.

Nomination 2018

The EAS Council invites EAS members to nominate suitable candidates for the Tycho Brahe Prize 2018. The deadline for nomination is:

Tuesday, 31 October 2017.

Nominations are only accepted through a web form accessible here for EAS members by logging in.

The nomination form shall contain:

  • Information on the proponent
  • Information on the award nominee
  • A summary of the nomination (<600 char.)
  • A full statement of support describing the nominee's achievements (<5000 char.)
  • A list of the ten most important publications (or other tangible achievements) (<5000 char.)

Warning: In order to avoid any data loss, we advise you to have the information above prepared in advance and ready to be inserted (copy & paste) in the nomination form.

For more information, please contact the Webmaster.