Symposium S6  1-2 July 2024

European Laboratory Astrophysics in the JWST era


  • Contributions
  • Mail sent for the selection of contributed talks and eposters. !! Please register by 15 May 2024 !! Otherwise your presentation will be automatically withdrawn
  • Special Issue in honor of Harold Linnartz
  • Journal ACS Earth and Space Chemistry - Guest Editors: Wim Ubachs and Xander Tielens (submission deadline: 01 January 2025). See more on this link

    Aims and scope

    The symposium is being organised in recognition of Professor Harold Linnartz's major contribution to the field of laboratory astrophysics.

    Laboratory astrophysics (LA) is essential for the interpretation of astronomical observations and the European community's involvement in this field is strong and has long been recognised. Regular conferences and workshops have been organized to discuss advances in this field. With the ground-breaking data from the James Webb Space Telescope and large ground-based facilities such as ALMA and the up-coming ELT, there is a particularly strong need to establish platforms to encourage stronger and scientifically productive links between the relevant communities in observational astronomy, theoretical astrophysics and laboratory physics and chemistry ensuring the necessary knowledge exchange and a comprehensive analysis of cutting edge astronomical data. In this spirit, the "European Laboratory Astrophysics in the JWST era" symposium will be the first to be held during the EAS annual meeting. It will cover several topics emphasizing the link between observations and LA and the developments in LA. In addition to reviews and invited talks, contributed talks along the topics defined below are very welcome.


    • Ices
    • Tracers of astrochemistry
    • Molecular spectroscopy and reactivity
    • Protoplanetary discs and planets
    • Plasmas and dust in extreme environments
    • PAHs and fullerenes

    Invited speakers

    • Jennifer Noble
      (PIIM, UniversitÚ Aix-Marseille, CNRS, Marseille, France)
    • Laboratory astrophysics of ice: a key to interpreting astronomical observations
    • Katie Slavicinska
      (Laboratory for Astrophysics, Leiden Observatory, The Netherlands)
    • The symbiosis of JWST observations and laboratory data in the golden age of ice spectroscopy
    • Jimenez Escobar
      (Istituto Nazionale di Astrofisica, INAF-OAPa, Italy)
    • Ice morphology in a more realistic interstellar ices
    • Javier R. Goicoechea
      (IFF-CSIC, Madrid, Spain)
    • The role of UV radiation in triggering photochemistry in the ISM and protoplanetary disks: A new window opened by JWST
    • Alexander Ebenbichler
      (University of Innsbruck, Innsbruck, Austria)
    • Band profile alignment of diffuse interstellar bands
    • Franšois Lique
      (Institut de physique de Rennes, UniversitÚ de Rennes, France)
    • The excitation of ions in the interstellar medium
    • Luca Bizzocchi
      (Dipartimento di Chimica "Giacomo Ciamician", UniversitÓ di Bologna, Bologna, Italy)
    • From laboratory to space: rotational spectroscopy of exotic molecules
    • Marie-Aline Martin
      (ISMO, UniversitÚ de Paris-Saclay, CNRS, Orsay, France)
    • Unveiling new reactive species of astrophysical relevance using laboratory rotational spectroscopy
    • Daniela Ascenzi
      (Atomic & Molecular Physics Lab, Department of Physics, University of Trento, Italy)
    • The role of ion-molecule reactions in shaping molecular complexity in the interstellar medium and planetary atmospheres
    • Inga Kamp
      (Kapteyn Astronomical Institute, University of Groningen, Netherlands)
    • The rich chemistry of planet forming disks revealed by JWST
    • Catherine Walsh
      (School of Physics and Astronomy, University of Leeds, UK)
    • Do exoplanetary atmospheres carry chemical signatures of their planet formation environment?
    • Victoria Cabedo
      (Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, Scotland)
    • Metal Catalysis in Astrophysical Environments
    • Luka Popovic
      (Astronomical Observatory in Belgrade, Serbia)
    • Plasmas and dust in the vicinity of supermassive black holes: Influence on the observed galatic nucleus activity
    • Sascha Zeegers
      (ESA ESTEC, Noordwijk)
    • Extreme environments: exploring the properties of dust and gas in the diffuse interstellar medium
    • Alessandra Ravasio
      (LULI, Ecole Polytechnique, France)
    • Laboratory astrophysics with high power lasers
    • Mathias Rapacioli
      (Laboratoire de Chimie et Physique Quantiques / FeRMI, UniversitÚ Toulouse III, CNRS, Toulouse, France)
    • Structural, dynamical and spectroscopic properties of carbon clusters and PAH clusters
    • Ismael GarcÝa-Bernete
      (University of Oxford, UK)
    • Unveiling PAH molecule survival and resilience in AGN with JWST
    • Paul Martini
      (DESIREE, Stockholm University, Sweden)
    • Studies of PAHs and fullerenes at DESIREE

    Scientific organisers

    • Marcelino Agundez (IFF-CSIC, Madrid)
    • Nadia Balucani (University of Perugia)
    • Olivier BernÚ (IRAP, UniversitÚ Toulouse 3, CNRS)
    • Sandra BrŘnken (Radboud University, FELIX Laboratory)
    • Paola Caselli (Max-Planck-Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics, Garching)
    • Emmanuel Dartois (ISMO, UniversitÚ Paris-Saclay, CNRS)
    • Franck Delahaye (LERMA, Observatoire de Paris)
    • Jean-Hugues Filion (Sorbonne UniversitÚ, Paris)
    • Thomas Henning (Max Plank Institute for Astronomy, Heidelberg)
    • Liv Hornaeker (Aarhus University, Aarhus)
    • Cornelia Jńger (Friederich-Schiller Universitńt, Jena)
    • Christine Joblin (IRAP, UniversitÚ Toulouse 3, CNRS)
    • Friedrich Kupka (FH Technikum Wien)
    • Martin McCoustra (Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh)
    • Vito Mennella (INAF-Astronomical Observatory of Capodimonte, Naples)
    • Cristina Puzzarini (UniversitÓ di Bologna)
    • Stephan Schlemmer (I. Physikalisches Institut, Cologne University)
    • Ewine van Dishoeck (Leiden Observatory University, Leiden)
    • Henning Zettergren (Department of Physics, Stockholm University)


    • Christine Joblin (Chair) - christine.joblin [at]
    • Stephan Schlemmer (Co-chair) - schlemmer [at]
    • Cristina Puzzarini (Co-chair) - cristina.puzzarini [at]

    Updated on Sun May 05 14:19:39 CEST 2024