Special Session SS8  2 July 2024

Zoom-in views of galaxy disks across Cosmic Time:
Bridging simulations and observations

Aims and scope

ALMA, VLT, and JWST are at the forefront of a revolutionary transformation in our understanding of galaxy disk formation and evolution. These observatories deliver remarkable high-angular resolution, enabling us to gain an extraordinarily detailed, multi-phase view of the interstellar medium (ISM) within galaxy disks. This detailed view reveals galactic disks' stellar and gas distribution and kinematics across cosmic epochs in exquisite detail, unveiling the complex interplay of physical processes governing disk evolution, from star formation and feedback mechanisms to the role of dark matter.

The increasing number of ALMA and JWST observations on high-redshift galaxy disks makes it exceedingly timely and imperative to convene a dedicated session at EAS, where the following topics will be discussed:

  • Bridging the Near and Far Universe: Disparities in the physical properties of stellar disks between the nearby and distant Universe and the role of the environment in the formation and destruction of disks and their morphological transformation.
  • The Origin of Disk Structure: Key factors influencing the emergence of galaxy disk structure over cosmic time.
  • Turbulence and its Drivers: Evolution of turbulence and the impact of different physical mechanisms (e.g., stellar and AGN feedback, gravitational instabilities, etc.) on distinct phases of the ISM.
  • Interplay between Disk and Bulge formation: Gas dynamics and its role in the build-up of galaxy components (e.g., bulges, massive gas and stellar clumps and bars)


  • Simulations of galaxy disks at different epochs
  • Morphology of star-forming galaxies across cosmic time
  • Evolution of kinematic and dynamic properties of galaxy disk populations

Invited speakers

  • Andrea Ferrara (Scuola Normale Superiore)
  • Filippo Fraternali (Kapteyn Astronomical Institute)
  • Jeyhan Kartaltepe (Rochester Institute of Technology)

Scientific organisers

  • Mahsa Kohandel (Scuola Normale Superiore)
  • Francesca Rizzo (DAWN, Niels Bohr Institute)
  • Sandro Tacchella (University of Cambridge)
  • Chris Hayward (CCA, Flatiron Institute)


Updated on Tue Jan 16 15:50:43 CET 2024