Special Session SS26  26 June 2019

Aims and scope

Understanding the interior composition of neutron stars is an important goal of astrophysics and fundamental physics. By mid-2019, the promising results of the Neutron Star Interior Composition ExploreR mission (NICER) on the dense matter equation of state will be available. Around that time, run O3 of the LIGO/Virgo collaboration will be in progress (or completed) with several expected new NS-NS mergers discoveries.

This Special Session aims at discussing recent results of the various observational methods giving access to the dense matter properties: gravitational waves from neutron star mergers (LIGO/Virgo), the NICER mission, thermal emission from the surface of neutron stars, and other existing methods. The theoretical modelling of the dense matter equation of state can also be discussed in light of these new results.

Finally, some time will be dedicated for the future of the field, in particular how future missions/experiments will provide the next generations constraints for the better understanding of the dense matter equation of state.


We would like to cover EOS Constraints from:

  • NS-NS mergers
  • Results from the NICER Mission
  • Thermal emission from neutron stars (Quiescent LMXBs, INSs, CCOs)
  • Type I X-ray bursts
  • Mass measurements of neutron stars
  • Moment of inertia measurements
  • Experimental measurements
as well as expected constraints from future experiments and observatories.

Invited speakers

  • Anthea Fantina (GANIL Caen)
  • Michalis Agathos (TPI, Jena Uni.)
  • Craig Heinke (U. of Alberta)
  • Zaven Arzoumanian (NASA Goddard)

Scientific organisers

Sebastien Guillot (IRAP), Fiorella Burgio (INFN Catania), Alessandro Drago (U Ferrara), Mark Alford (U Wash. St. Louis), Luciano Rezzolla (ITP Frankfurt), Jérôme Margueron (IPNL), Laura Tolos (ICE), Sebastiano Bernuzzi (TPI Jena), Veronica Dexheimer (Kent U.), Adrianna Raduta (NIPNE), Pierre Pizzochero (INFN Milano), Morgane Fortin (CAMK), Dipankar Bhattacharya (IUCAA), Nanda Rea (ICE), Tanja Hinderer (UvA), Anna Watts (UvA).


Sebastien Guillot: sebastien.guillot @ irap.omp.eu, Fiorella Burgio: fiorella.burgio @ ct.infn.it

Updated on Mon Apr 15 13:49:52 CEST 2019