Special Session SS32  25 June 2019

Aims and scope

Large European collaborations (4MOST, MOONS, and WEAVE) are in place to use new cutting-edge spectroscopic instrumentation to produce large chemo-dynamical surveys of the stellar populations of the Galaxy and its satellites with exquisite detail, providing the critical complement to the positional information provided by the Gaia Mission. However, as the independent surveys advance in their design (selection function, stellar parameter space, sky coverage, signal-to-noise regime), it is critical to establish a common baseline across the different communities to ensure an optimal scientific outcome. This requires the teams to include "common science calibration strategies" that allow us to bridge together the results (stellar parameters, abundances, kinematics, etc.) from each survey, and it is essential to consider feedback from past experience to identify the challenges of the immense scale of these new stellar surveys.

We are holding this Special Session at EWASS for the large variety of experts spread widely across the European community, who we would like to actively engage in this discussion.


The Special Session will include short overview talks on the 4MOST, MOONS, and WEAVE stellar surveys as well as previous calibration experiences/challenges. We open the call to the community for contributed talks on calibrations for key science cases with the new surveys, past experiences with stellar calibrations, and challenges with available tools for automatic measurement of physical parameters. The list of topics includes:

  • Forthcoming science with the new era of European Spectroscopic Surveys
  • Uncertainties in stellar parameters and abundances from large surveys
  • Establishing a common baseline: cross-survey observations and calibrations

Invited speakers

  • Livia Origlia (Osservatorio Astronomico di Bologna, Italy)
  • Sofia Feltzing (Lund Observatory, Sweden)
  • Sara Lucatello (Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova, Italy)
  • Karin Lind (Max Planck Institute for Astronomy, Germany)
  • Scott Trager (Kapteyn Astronomical Institute, The Netherlands)
  • Clare Worley (Institute of Astronomy, University of Cambridge, UK)
  • Georges Kordopatis (Observatoire de la Cte d'Azur, France)

Scientific organisers

  • Oscar A. Gonzalez (UK Astronomy Technology Centre, UK)
  • Anke Arentsen (Leibniz-Institut fr Astrophysik Potsdam, Germany)
  • Sven Buder (Max Planck Institute for Astronomy, Germany)
  • Sofia Feltzing (Lund Observatory, Sweden)
  • Vanessa Hill (Observatoire de la Cte d'Azur, France)
  • Shoko Jin (University of Oxford, UK / Kapteyn Astronomical Institute, The Netherlands)
  • Roberto Raddi (Friedrich Alexander Universitaet Erlangen-Nuernberg, Germany)
  • Rodolfo Smiljanic (Nicolaus Copernicus Astronomical Center, Poland)
  • Caroline Soubiran (Laboratoire d'astrophysique de Bordeaux, France)
  • Scott Trager (Kapteyn Astronomical Institute, The Netherlands)


Oscar Gonzalez (oscar.gonzalez.at.stfc.ac.uk)

Updated on Tue Jun 25 07:37:24 CEST 2019