Symposium S12  2 - 3 July 2020

Exoplanets in the 2020s: theory, observations, and instrumentation

Aims and scope

Recent surveys of exoplanets have revealed an amazing, and yet unexplained, diversity of planets orbiting other stars. The key to understanding and exploiting this diversity is to study the architecture, dynamics, interiors, atmospheres, environments and evolution of these planetary systems. These exoplanets are important to improve our understanding of planet formation, physics, and habitability. With the recent advances in theory, observation, and instrumentation in the field of exoplanets, we are rapidly moving towards smaller and cooler planets, like mini-Neptunes and super Earths, giving us new opportunities to place the Solar System and the Earth's ecosystem in a broader context. In this context, this EAS symposium aims at bringing together the European Exoplanet community interested in the field of Exoplanets in order to review major recent results, and present upcoming new EU projects and instruments.

This meeting is composed of a 6 blocks symposium (S12; 1.5 hours/block) and a lunch session (L8; 1 hours), both have the same title. The lunch session will be on "Exoplanets in the 2020s: Preparing the EU community for the JWST & ELTs era". This will be an open discussion about how best to prepare the community for JWST and ELTs, and strategies for future instruments.


  • Detection & Architecture
  • Characterization: Atmospheres & Interiors
  • Mini-Neptunes and Super-Earths
  • Impact of host stars, stellar activity
  • Instrumentation

Invited speakers

  • Bertram Bitsch (MPIA, Germany)
  • Vincent Bourrier (Geneva, Switzerland)
  • Magali Deleuil (Marseille, France)
  • Caroline Dorn (Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Carole Haswell (Open University, UK)
  • Anne-Marie Lagrange (Grenoble, France)
  • Lorenzo Pino (Amsterdam, NL)
  • Sascha Quanz (Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Stephane Udry (Geneva, Switzerland)
  • Vincent Van Eylen (UCL/MSSL, UK)
  • Olivia Venot (Paris, France)

Scientific organisers

  • Jean-Michel Désert (Amsterdam, NL) co-chair
  • Yamila Miguel (Leiden, NL) co-chair
  • Jayne Birkby (Amsterdam, NL)
  • David Ehrenreich (Geneva, Switzerland)
  • Ravit Helled (Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Sasha Hinkley (Exeter, UK)
  • Michiel Lambrechts (Lund, Sweden)
  • Alexander J. Mustill (Lund, Sweden)
  • Vivien Parmentier (Oxford, UK)
  • Heike Rauer (Berlin, Germany)
  • Ignas Snellen (Leiden, NL)
  • Aline Vidotto (Dublin, Ireland)
  • Hannah Wakeford (Bristol, UK)
  • Contact

  • Jean-Michel Désert (Amsterdam, NL) co-chair: desert @
  • Yamila Miguel (Leiden, NL) co-chair: ymiguel @
  • Updated on Sat Feb 08 21:00:34 CET 2020