Jocelyn Bell Burnell Inspiration Medal


The European Astronomical Society wishes to recognise astronomers of all career stages whose contribution beyond scientific research. The name of the prize, Jocelyn Bell Burnell Inspiration Medal, has been decided by the EAS Council, after consultation of the EAS membership, and will be awarded for the first time in 2021 and in alternate years thereafter.

The Prize will be awarded to:

  1. an individual who has overcome disadvantage, be it social, economic or of other nature, to make an important contribution to Astronomy and by their example has inspired others;
  2. or
  3. an individual, organisation or group that has enabled advances in research and/or study in Astronomy or used Astronomy to benefit to the community at large;
  4. or
  5. an individual, organisation or group that has, through the teaching and application of astronomy, facilitated or encouraged underrepresented and/or underprivileged groups to engage with and exploit advances in science.

Note that self-nominations are not allowed.

For more information, please contact the Webmaster.