Jocelyn Bell Burnell Inspiration Medal


Photo credit:
Alejandra Rueda (IAC)
The Inaugural 2021 Jocelyn Bell Burnell Inspiration Medal is awarded to

Prof. Mirjana Pović (Ethiopian Space Science and Technology Institute, Ethiopia and Instituto de Astrofísica de Andalucía, Spain)

for her work on developing astronomy, science and education as a route out of poverty and to improve the quality of life for young people in Africa.


The European Astronomical Society wishes to recognise astronomers of all career stages whose contribution beyond scientific research. The name of the prize, Jocelyn Bell Burnell Inspiration Medal, has been decided by the EAS Council, after consultation of the EAS membership, and was awarded for the first time in 2021 and will be in alternate years thereafter.

The Prize will be awarded to:

  1. an individual who has overcome disadvantage, be it social, economic or of other nature, to make an important contribution to Astronomy and by their example has inspired others;
  2. or
  3. an individual, organisation or group that has enabled advances in research and/or study in Astronomy or used Astronomy to benefit to the community at large;
  4. or
  5. an individual, organisation or group that has, through the teaching and application of astronomy, facilitated or encouraged underrepresented and/or underprivileged groups to engage with and exploit advances in science.

Note that self-nominations are not allowed.

For more information, please contact the Webmaster.