EAS Working Group on Sustainability

Mission statement

Established in autumn 2020, in accordance with the EAS commitment to a sustainable development of European astronomy, the EAS sustainability working group aims to investigate, communicate, and make recommendations to Council on sustainability matters related to astronomy and astrophysics. Relevant issues include, among others, the organisation of international meetings, the energy consumption of observatories and supercomputer facilities, and sustainability and climate issues as part of astronomy communication.


  • Didier Barret (IRAP, Toulouse)
  • Tobias Beuchert (ESO, Garching)
  • Leonard Burtscher (Leiden University, co-chair)
  • William Chantereau (Strasbourg Astronomical Observatory)
  • Hannah Dalgleish (University of Oxford, co-chair)
  • Emre Dil (Beykent University, Istanbul)
  • Victoria Grinberg (Uni Tübingen)
  • Agnieszka Janiuk (Centrum Fizyki Teoretycznej, Warsaw)
  • Robert Massey (Royal Astronomical Society)
  • Valentina D'Orazi (INAF, Padua)

Ongoing projects

  • Reports and recommendations for EAS Council
  • An overview of sustainability activities in European astronomy: to be presented at the EAS 2021 meeting
  • Special Session 30 on Sustainability at EAS annual meeting 2021 (includes a Lunch Session)

We invite you to join us on our collective mission to reduce the carbon footprint of the average European astronomer and to pave the way for a resilient and sustainable future of European astronomical research. If you would like to contribute to these efforts or get in touch with the Sustainability Working Group to find out more, please contact sustainability-eas @ unige.ch.