EAS News
A word from the President

As well as enjoying the longer days of Spring your Council has been busy in preparation for the meeting in Padova, Italy, and for the EAS Annual Meeting 2025 planned to be hosted by University College Cork in Ireland. At the annual meeting last year we celebrated ten years of the MERAC Prizes and heard the announcement of the George Lake Awards to promote outstanding innovation and non-commercial research in New Technologies, Instrumentation and Computing, in George's memory. There were a large number of very strong applications and the selection process was very competitive. Exceptionally, for this first ever George Lake Award, Fondation Merac has selected two projects rather than just one. The winners are: Read more

EAS News
The 2024 MERAC Prizes for the Best Doctoral Thesis

Each year the EAS awards prizes to young scientists to recognise and support young astronomers. This year the MERAC Prizes have been awarded for Best Doctoral Thesis in three categories: Read more

Awardees of the 2024 EAS Prizes for senior researchers

Outstanding science was also awarded in the case of senior scientists. This year EAS committees selected the awardees for: Tycho Brahe Medal, Lodewijk Woltjer Lecture, and Fritz Zwicky Prize for Astrophysics & Cosmology. The winners are: Read more

EAS Annual Meeting 1-5 July 2024 in Padova, Italy

The 2024 EAS Annual Meeting in Padova is approaching quickly. The organisers have received over 2350 abstracts, 16% more than for the EAS 2023 meeting in Krakow. The total number of abstracts includes 2050 contributed talks, 187 ePosters, 104 invited talks, 5 plenaries, and 4 prize-winner talks. The final program will be available at the EAS2024 webpage as soon as it is finalised. This year participants will be able to attend (a selection of) 15 Symposia, 41 Special Sessions, and 7 Lunch Sessions in a fully hybrid mode. Online participants will have access to all sessions (plenary, symposia, special and lunch sessions), live or recorded, on a virtual platform , as well as the ePosters platform, the EAS 2024 dedicated Slack space, etc. In addition, for the "online speaker" fee, virtual attendees will be able to give a talk remotely "live" for all sessions. Paid (low fee) childcare is organised for the limited number of participants. Read more

United Nations Agrees to Address Impact of Satellite Constellations on Astronomy

After intense discussions, the United Nations Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space (UN COPUOS) Scientific and Technical Subcommittee has agreed to include an agenda item in its provisional agenda for the next five years with the title: "Dark and Quiet Skies, astronomy and large constellations: addressing emerging issues and challenges". As the UN's top body for space-related matters with delegates from more than 102 countries, COPUOS deals with all topics related to international cooperation and the exploration of space and planetary bodies, including the deployment of satellites, space debris mitigation, long-term sustainability of space and the use of orbital slots. Read more

University College Cork, Ireland, as the host for EAS 2025

A delegation of the EAS Annual Meeting Board visited the campus of University College Cork (UCC), the host for the EAS Annual Meeting in 2025. In 2024, the Astronomical Society of Ireland celebrates its 50th anniversary. The Board is finalising its review on the site capacity, but has not identified potential showstoppers. UCC is a green campus and includes many lecture rooms and other facilities to host the Annual Meeting, as well as on-campus accommodation for lodging. Cork is a vibrant city, combining the old and the modern, offering everyone numerous possibilities for great experiences. Cork is very well connected by various transport means that will allow EAS members to reach this destination.

Invitation to apply for the HERA 2024 workshop

The Research Center for Astronomy and Applied Mathematics of the Academy of Athens (RCAAM) is organising the conference: "The Nature and the Dynamics of Structures Observed in Galactic Disks". This conference is part of the HERA workshop series initiated by EAS and supported by the Wilhelm and Else Heraeus Foundation. These workshops offer a platform for early career scientists to engage in collaborative interactions, devise research projects, gain a comprehensive outlook, and initiate international partnerships. The workshop will take place in the week of September 15th (Sunday) - September 20th (Friday) at the Central Building of the Academy of Athens. Read more

Save the date: webinar on Satellite Constellations

Since 2019 the EAS has been heavily involved in the global effort to minimise the impact of satellite constellations (SATCON) on astronomy. We are working with other astronomical societies, observatories, international organisations and industry to mitigate what could be a serious challenge to the viability of our science. On May 7th at 10:30 CEST the EAS will offer a special webinar for EAS members, explaining our concerns, the progress ww have made so far, and how you can help. Members will receive an email with more details in the upcoming days.

About the EAS and the e-Newsletter

The European Astronomical Society (EAS) is a society of professional astronomers founded in 1990 and aiming at promoting and advancing astronomy in Europe. Its contact point is the EAS Office, located at the University of Geneva, Switzerland.

Started in 2016, the e-Newsletter is a prime communication tool between the society and its members, and it is issued three to four times per year.

If you would like to contribute, please contact Agata Różańska (CAMK PAN, Poland), the EAS e-Newsletter editor.

Composition of the EAS Council

Roger Davies, UK
Sara Lucatello, Italy
Lex Kaper, The Netherlands
Andreja Gomboc, Slovenia
Nick Kylafis, Greece
Nabila Aghanim, France
Antoaneta Antonova, Bulgaria
Jarle Brinchmann, Portugal
Andreas Burkert, Germany
Agata Różańska, Poland
Mariya Lyubenova, Germany
Executive Secretary:
Marc Audard, Switzerland