EAS Advisory Committee on Equity, Diversity, Inclusion

Mission statement

Established in autumn 2020, in accordance with the EAS commitment to promote and improve on equity, inclusion and diversity in European astronomy, the EAS Advisory Committee on Equity, Diversity, Inclusion aims to investigate, communicate, and make recommendations to Council on EDI matters related to astronomy and astrophysics. Relevant issues include, among others, observing inclusion and diversity activities in European astronomy, assessing the EAS demographics, recommending to the Council and membership new policies or practices with regard to increasing inclusiveness, and assisting in the implementation of these new activities where necessary.


  • Veronica Allen (Kapteyn Astronomical Institute, Netherlands)
  • Cosimo Inserra (Cardiff University, UK)
  • Katarzyna Malek (National Centre for Nuclear Research, Poland)
  • Kevin Smith (Trinity College Dublin, Ireland)
  • Mamta Pommier (University of Lyon & University of Montpellier, France)
  • Matthias Maercker (Chalmers University, Sweden)
  • MariCruz Gálvez Ortiz (CAB INTA-CSIC, Spain)
  • Monika Jurkovic (Astronomical Observatory of Belgrade, Serbia)
  • Paul Beck (ULL & IAC, Tenerife, Spain)
  • Rosa Doran (Nuclio, Brasil)
  • Silvia Bonoli (Donostia International Physics Center, Spain)

We invite you to join us on our collective mission to create and maintain an environment of equity, inclusion and diversity, as well as ensure access and opportunity to all in astronomy and astrophysics. If you would like to contribute to these efforts or get in touch with the EDI Advisory Committee to find out more, please contact edi-eas @ unige.ch.