Symposium S10  1-2 July 2024

Supernovae: now in 3D!

News: Provisional Web page

Aims and scope

Supernova explosions are a fascinating show of Nature. Over human timescales, they deliver huge amounts of energy and a wide variety of nuclear yields, thus contributing to the chemical enrichment of the Universe. In the last years, we have accumulated an enormous wealth of new observations, which come with laudable progress in the theoretical modelling of these explosions. The increasing number of spatially resolved observations have opened the door to the three-dimensional nature of supernovae, and hence, an equally sophisticated theoretical and numerical modelling must account for the true dimensionality of these cataclysmic events. Understanding how a massive star explodes and how the explosion properties connect to the stellar progenitors opens new paths to probe stellar evolution theories. Disentangling from the properties of supernova remnants the explosion type and, even better, the properties of the exploding star is a road that pays off to transit. Understanding whether neutron stars, black holes or other more exotic objects are left as compact remnants witnessing the catastrophic end of massive stars has profound implications for the population of compact objects which are targets of the gravitational wave astronomy. Inferring the properties of the neutrinos emitted during the explosion is a must to interpret observations with the newest neutrino detectors.

In this symposium, we aim at connecting the latest observations of supernovae and supernova remnants (e.g., from Pan-STARRS, ASAS-SN, O4-cycle of the LVK collaboration, IceCube, Hyper-Kamiokande, ALMA, NuSTAR, etc.) with the forefront theoretical and numerical (3D) modelling of the explosion mechanism and, as well, to the late phases of stellar evolution.


Invited speakers

  • Bernhard Müller (Monash University, Australia)
  • Thomas Janka (Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik, Germany)
  • Raphael Hirschi (Keele University, UK)
  • Nancy Elias (INAF - Astronomical Observatory of Padua, Italy)
  • Carla Frölich (North Carolina State University, USA)
  • Salvatore Orlando (University of Palermo, Italy)

Scientific organisers

In alphabetical order:

  • Miguel A. Aloy (University of Valencia, Spain)
  • Michael Gabler (University of Valencia, Spain)
  • Camilla J. Hansen (University of Frankfurt, Germany)
  • Anders Jerkstrand (Stockholm University, Sweden)
  • Josefin Larsson (Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden)
  • Martin Obergaulinger (University of Valencia, Spain)


eas2024s10 @

Updated on Mon Jun 03 09:55:42 CEST 2024