EAS News
EAS 2021: the second virtual EAS Annual Meeting with a record turnout
Opening speech by the EAS President

Welcome from Oxford. My name is Roger Davies, and I am President of the EAS. This is the second time the Annual Meeting has had to be held virtually and I am delighted to say we have a record turnout of 2464 registrations from 64 countries and 2073 abstracts presented. We are looking forward to 16 Symposia, 33 Special Sessions, 5 Lunch Sessions as well as the Prize and Plenary lectures. As these figures suggest this has been a huge enterprise to organise and for the second year running the Leiden team, ably aided and abetted by the wider Netherlands community, have hosted us. I am enormously grateful to them, and to Scientific Organising Committee co-chaired by Joop Schaye and Conny Aarts as well as my colleagues on Council supported by the staff of Kuoni Congress for their efforts to make Virtual EAS 2021 a success. Read more

EAS News
EAS 2022 in Valencia, 27 June - 1 July 2022
Proposals for Symposia, Special Sessions, and Lunch Sessions due 30 September 2021

EAS Council is happy to announce that the EAS 2022 Annual Meeting is planned to take place in Valencia, Spain, from 27 June to 1 July 2022. We invite proposals from colleagues interested in organising a Symposium, a Special Session, or a Lunch Session at EAS 2022. All details can be found at this page. The deadline for submitting expressions of interest is Thursday 30 September 2021.

EAS News
Call for nominations for EAS Prizes
Deadline 31 October 2021

EAS Council invites members to nominate suitable candidates for the 2022 EAS Prizes. The Tycho Brahe Medal is awarded annually in recognition of the development or exploitation of European instruments, or major discoveries based largely on such instruments. The MERAC Prizes for Best Doctoral Thesis are awarded to recognize and support young European astronomers. The Fritz Zwicky Prize for Astrophysics and Cosmology recognises scientists who have obtained fundamental and outstanding results related to astrophysics and cosmology. Read more

EAS News
Invitation to nominate candidate Councillors
Deadline for nomination 16 September 2021

Elections will be held for several positions in the EAS Council. The President (Roger Davies), one Vice-President (Sara Lucatello), the Treasurer (Nick Kylafis), and one Councillor (Andi Burkert) are all re-eligible and wish to continue their service. The position of one Councillor (Maarten Baes) becomes vacant. In accordance to the election procedures approved at the 2017 General Assembly, the EAS membership is invited to nominate candidates, provided that these candidates have indicated in writing that they are willing to serve if elected. Read more

About the EAS and the e-Newsletter

The European Astronomical Society (EAS) is a society of professional astronomers founded in 1990 and aiming at promoting and advancing astronomy in Europe. Its contact point is the EAS Office, located at the University of Geneva, Switzerland.

Started in 2016, the e-Newsletter is a prime communication tool between the society and its members, and it is issued three to four times per year.

If you would like to contribute, please contact Maarten Baes (Ghent University, Belgium), the EAS e-Newsletter editor.

Composition of the EAS Council

Roger Davies, UK
Sara Lucatello, Italy
Lex Kaper, The Netherlands
Inma Domínguez, Spain
Nick Kylafis, Greece
Georges Meylan, Switzerland
Andreas Burkert, Germany
Antoaneta Antonova, Bulgaria
Agata Różańska, Poland
Maarten Baes, Belgium