The Society


"Astronomy made in Europe"

The European Astronomical Society (EAS) promotes and advances astronomy in Europe. As an independent body, the EAS is able to act on matters that need to be handled at a European level on behalf of the European astronomical community. In its endeavours the EAS collaborates with affiliated national astronomical societies and also with pan-european research organisations and networks.

Founded in 1990, the EAS is a society of individual members. All astronomers may join the society, irrespective of their field of research, or their country of work or origin. In addition, corporations, publishers and non-profit organisations can become organisational members of the EAS.

Activities and Functions:
EAS Annual Meeting
The EAS organises its annual meeting (formerly known as European Week of Astronomy & Space Science, EWASS, and previously as JENAM), to enhance its links with national communities, to broaden connections between individual members and to promote European networks. The EAS annual meeting consists of plenary sessions covering astronomical topics of general interest, and of a number of topical symposia or sessions of one or two days' duration, organized in parallel sessions.
Since 2008, the EAS has awarded a prize in recognition of the development or exploitation of European instruments, or of major discoveries based largely on such instruments. Until 2018, it was the Tycho Brahe Prize, but from 2019, EAS awards the Tycho Brahe Medal. The winner is asked to give a lecture at the EAS annual meeting.
Since 2010, astronomers of outstanding distinction are invited by the EAS to give the Lodewijk Woltjer lecture at the EAS annual meeting.
Since 2013, the EAS awards the MERAC Prizes to recognize and support young European astronomers. The three laureates of each year are invited to give a plenary lecture at the EAS annual meeting.
Since 2020, the EAS awards biennually the Fritz Zwicky Prizes to scientists who have obtained fundamental and outstanding results related to astrophysics and/or cosmology. The laureate also gives a plenary lecture at the EAS annual meeting.
Since 2021, the Jocelyn Bell Burnell Inspiration Medal is awarded in alternate years to recognise astronomers of all career stages whose contribution beyond scientific research. The laureates of the Fritz Zwicky Prizes and Jocelyn Bell Burnell Inspiration Medal gives plenary lectures at the EAS annual meeting.
Since 2016, the EAS e-Newsletter supersedes both the former paper Newsletter and the short e-News. It is issued four times per year - in general in January, April, July and October - and includes reports on astronomical topics, astronomical life in Europe, developments within the society and European networks.
Publication Series
Until 2016, the EAS oversaw the distribution of papers of general interest in astronomy, such as proceedings of conferences and monographs by way of the EAS Publication Series (published by EDP Sciences), on which members enjoy a 20% discount. This was abandoned because of loss of interest in books, in particular for conference proceedings. The EAS also had strong links with The Astronomy and Astrophysics Review, where EAS members are granted a reduced subscription rate.
Connections with Affiliated Societies
The EAS provides a natural link to astronomical communities across Europe through relations with its affiliated societies, i.e. the national astronomical societies. Business meetings are regularly held between the EAS Council and representative of the affiliated societies.
Job Market and other services
The EAS website gives members easy access to the job market. EAS members and non-members can post job announcements free of charge. In addition to these services, EAS maintained until 2017 an updated list of Summer/Winter Schools.
The EAS offers reduced registration fees at the annual EAS mmeeting to EAS members and further supports the participation of a limited number of young astronomers via EAS/Springer Grants.
Contact with European Sister Societies
Many scientific fields rely on collaboration beyond the traditional disciplines. The EAS thus provides links to other societies in order to foster discussion on topics of common interest. As an example, the EAS and the European Physical Society (EPS) have established the Joint Solar Physics Group.

The Society has a Constitution defining the general rules, complemented by By-laws specifying various detailed procedures.

To become member of the EAS, please consult the information on membership classes, benefits and fees and fill out the online application form. If you are a member of an affiliated society, you can join the EAS for free through your society since 2019. You are invited to contact your society to ensure that your interest in joining the EAS is transmitted to the EAS Office.

For Organisational Memberships, please contact the EAS Office.

General Assemblies

Below is the list of EAS General Assemblies held at the annual meeting of the EAS (EWASS; formerly JENAM). Please note that until 2008, these meetings were called "Business Meetings", while the current Business Meetings were called "Council Meetings".

Note that only logged EAS members can see the minutes of the general assemblies.

  • 32nd General Assembly: 3 July 2024 — Padova, Italy
  • 31st General Assembly: 13 July 2023 — Kraków, Poland
  • 30th General Assembly: 29 June 2022 — Valencia, Spain
  • 29th General Assembly: 30 June 2021 — Virtual
  • 28th General Assembly: 1 July 2020 — Virtual
  • 27th General Assembly: 26 June 2019 — Lyon, France
  • 26th General Assembly: 27 August 2018 — Vienna, Austria
  • 25th General Assembly: 29 June 2017 — Prague, Czech Republic
  • 24th General Assembly: 7 July 2016 — Athens, Greece
  • 23rd General Assembly: 25 June 2015 — Tenerife, Spain
  • 22nd General Assembly: 2 July 2014 — Geneva, Switzerland
  • 21st General Assembly: 10 July 2013 — Turku, Finland
  • 20th General Assembly: 4 July 2012 — Rome, Italy
  • 19th General Assembly: 6 July 2011 — St. Petersburg, Russia
  • 18th General Assembly: 8 Sep. 2010 — Lisbon, Portugal
  • 17th General Assembly: 21 April 2009 — Hatfield, UK
  • 16th General Assembly: 11 Sep. 2008 — Vienna, Austria
  • 15th General Assembly: 21 August 2007 — Yerevan, Armenia
  • 14th General Assembly: 21 August 2006 — Prague, Czech Republic
  • 13th General Assembly: 6 July 2005 — Liège, Belgium
  • 12th General Assembly: 15 Sep. 2004 — Granada, Spain
  • 11th General Assembly: 28 August 2003 — Budapest, Hungary
  • 10th General Assembly: 5 Sep. 2002 — Porto, Portugal
  • 9th General Assembly: 12 Sep. 2001 — Munich, Germany
  • 8th General Assembly: 1 June 2000 — Moscow, Russia
  • 6th General Assembly: 11 Sep. 1998 — Prague, Czech Republic