Message about the Scientific Community in Ukraine

28 Feb 2022 (updated March 1, adding ASA; March 2, KAS; March 11, RNAS; April 1, SAIt)

The European Astronomical Society (EAS), the International Astronomical Union (IAU), the American Astronomical Society (AAS), the African Astronomical Society (AfAS), the Astronomical Society of Australia (ASA), the Korean Astronomical Society (KAS), the Royal Netherlands Astronomical Society (RNAS), and the Italian Astronomical Society (SAIt) have been observing with great concern the events unfolding in Ukraine and fear the adverse consequences for the scientific community, our colleagues, and their families. We have been receiving reports of the dire circumstances they are experiencing: their freedom, safety and even their lives are under threat.

The mission of our societies is to promote and safeguard the science of astronomy in all its aspects, including research, communication, education and development through international cooperation. We believe in free expression and free exchange of scientific ideas and in peaceful collaboration at a global level. The current events jeopardise the scientific cooperation within our European community and with the rest of the world.

We are deeply concerned for the Ukrainian community as well as for the entire region. Triggered by the life-threatening situation in which our Ukrainian colleagues find themselves, we wish to encourage members to help wherever possible in this difficult time for Ukraine. Ukrainian astronomers seeking support should contact the Institute of International Education (IIE) scholar rescue fund, which supports refugee scholars and is activating an Ukraine-specific student emergency fund.

Roger Davies, President of the European Astronomical Society
Debra Elmegreen, President of the International Astronomical Union
Paula Szkody, President of the American Astronomical Society
Jamal Mimouni, President of the African Astronomical Society
John Lattanzio, President of the Astronomical Society of Australia
Myeong-Gu Park, President of the Korean Astronomical Society
Peter Barthel, Chairman of the Royal Netherlands Astronomical Society
Roberto Buonanno, President of the Italian Astronomical Society